top of page

The Art of Revision and Editing

Shitty first drafts, you have to love them.


Revision and editing can be one of the most crucial moments when it comes to writing, and that is because not everything you write will always be the work you submit. Ann Lamott who wrote "Shitty First Drafts" does an excellent job conveying this message.


"the first draft is the child’s draft, where you let it all pour out and then let it romp all over the place, knowing that no one is going to see it and that you can shape it later" (Lamott, 302).

The quote above is something that I can agree with. I tend to write what is on my mind first to just put my thoughts onto paper, and like Lamott said I can shape it later since no one is going to see it. Most of the assignments that I have submitted for a grade were once shitty drafts, and without realizing I turned something bad into something worthy of an A.


Ann Lamott's essay coincides with the art of revision and editing because in order to turn a shitty draft into something great you have to spend time tweaking it.


I believe that the ideas that Ann Lamott discusses in her essay are consistent with my ideas of what I believe a good writer is. I believe that it takes the ability to make mistakes, and self-awareness to become a good a good writer.


While doing my reading I found that there was not anything that would be trivial to my thoughts on what it takes to be a good writer.



bottom of page