top of page

Audience Profile and Thesis Statement

When the moment comes pick the right audience.




The Email


To: Andrew Goff

Subject: Attendance

Hello Professor Goff, I am sorry to bother you but I would like to inform you that I will be missing class today. I know that my presence will be missed but I am suffering from the flu. Please pray for my speedy recovery so I can return to class. I hope you have a wonderful day.


  • What do you know about your professor in general?


I know that my professor is a goofball who likes comic books and the environment. He is someone who is passionate of what he is teaching. He also enjoys a good sense of humor. He also values honesty.


  • What is your relationship with your professor?


I have a friendly relationship with my professor. I believe that he is someone I can go to when I am struggling with the material in class.


  • What does your professor already know about you?


I believe that my professor thinks that I am a pothead because he asked if I was high once. However, I don't think he knows much about me as a person because we usually talk about biology.


  • What do you want them to know?


I just want him to know that I am always putting 100% effort into my work.


  • How do you want them to respond to your e-mails?


I want him to respond to my e-mail in a sarcastic tone because I know he would not mind if I missed class.


My knowledge of my professor lets me write an e-mail that is more playful than an e-mail I would write to a professor I barely know. Writing this e-mail gave me more freedom to be myself, and that is something I can appreciate.


The Audience




(AP Photo/Andrew Harnik)


I believe that my audience would be anyone who is able to vote. I want this to be my audience because I want people to do something about the immigration issue plaguing this country.


There are many people who have an opinion on immigration because it is one of the more heated topics going into the 2020 election, and that leads people to rally behind candidates who share the same view on these issues as them.


I have laid out criteria that would help identify an audience interested in my work.


  • They must be between the age of 18-65.

  • They must reside within the United States

  • My audience should be affiliated with either the Democratic Party or the Republican part, and they could also come from a latino background.

  • My audience should be registered to vote

  • My audience should value a change in immigration policies.

  • My audience should already know that immigration is a problem in this country, but there are two ways of viewing this issue. One group believes that we should send every undocumented immigrant to their country of origin, and the other group believes that we should help the immigrants.

  • My audience would either get their information from a far right news source like Breitbart or they may get their information from a far left source like The Huffington Post. Some might even get their information from a more neutral source like CNN.

  • The people from my round table would listen to new sources such as CNN since they are more neutral than most news sources.

  • I personally would want people to help the immigrants out because I have a lot of history with the immigration system.


The Thesis Statement


I want my thesis statement to be more of a message because I believe that our immigration system does more harm than it does good because our immigration system brings down the people it is meant to help.


bottom of page